Messages School Settings for Admins

School Settings for Messages allows School Administrators to decide who at their school can engage in private messaging and who with! Admins can customize their school’s messaging experience based on the communication needs of their school community.

Note: District Administrators are able to manage messaging settings for all schools in their district. If a District Administrator chooses anything other than “Let Schools Decide”, School Administrators cannot change that setting. School settings will be overridden by district settings. If your school had no prior setting set, it will acquire whatever the district setting is.

Settings can be updated by school admins for individual schools from each school dashboard.

Please note that these settings do not impact a teacher or administrator’s ability to send class announcements.

How do I access Messages settings? 
  1. Navigate to your School Dashboard.
  2. Tap the gear icon (top right) to access School Settings.
    messages-school_settings.png
  3. Select Messages Settings. 
What are the default Messages settings? 

Messages Settings control which roles can start conversations in the school, and with whom. The below image shows the default settings for Messages:

CleanShot_2022-07-11_at_18.10.28.png

If your District Admin has configured settings, this will be reflected in Messages Settings as shown below. 

Please note:Create conversations’ means searching for and initiating a 1:1 or group conversation or privately replying to announcements.

Examples of Messages settings
  1. Families can create conversations with class teachers or Families can create conversations with any teacher or administator
    Only allow families to create conversations (and reply to class announcements) with class teachers.
    Note: families can add a co-family member (connected to the same student) in conversations with the teacher or teacher/admin (but not if the teacher isn’t in the conversation).
    messages_-_settings_-_family_members.png

  2. Class-limited, teacher-initiated conversations
    Teachers can start conversations with families and students in their classes only.
    Students and families cannot start conversations or respond to announcements.
    messages_-_settings_-_class_limited.png

  3. No staff-student messaging
    Turn off all staff-student 1:1 and small group messaging.
    messages_-_setting_-_no_staff_student.png

  4. No private messaging
    Turn off all 1:1 and small group messaging.msesages_-_settings_-_no_private.png

  5. Students and family members cannot reply to announcements
    When sending out a message to everyone in your class or school, be sure you're choosing 'Announcement' instead of 'Group Chat' for your conversation type (in addition to updating the above settings). 
    messages_-_settings_-_last.png
See who has viewed messages
Announcements are one-way messages and do not show information about who else is receiving the message to other recipients.

To see who has viewed a Conversation, tap on Seen By.
Can I close threads when settings change or classes are archived?

Yes. Archiving a class will "close" all message threads associated with that class so no one can post to them in the future.

When admins change messaging settings that control who can message whom in their school, these changes are retroactively applied to message threads that were previously created.

For more information about school settings for Messages, check out our Messages Quick Start Guide for Administrators!

Have more questions? Submit a request