Rostering with ClassLink FAQs

We know that rolling out a new program can lead to lots of questions! Below are answers to some of our most frequently asked questions about rostering Seesaw with ClassLink! 

We used Clever last year, can we use ClassLink this year?

Yes! You can use ClassLink this year, even if you have used Clever to create classes in the past. You will need to contact us in order to remove the Clever_ID from your student accounts (this ID is not visible to Admin).

When ClassLink and Seesaw sync for the first time, ClassLink will search for existing students to update their accounts and enroll them in their new classes. In order for ClassLink to find existing students in Seesaw, the Student ID field in Seesaw must match the SourcedID field in ClassLink. Seesaw can not match on Student Number or State ID fields. 

Optionally, if your students have email addresses connected to their accounts in Seesaw, that will serve as a unique identifier for ClassLink. The sync will be able to locate those existing accounts and update their accounts. 

Can my students use Classlink SSO to sign into Seesaw?

Yes! Students can log in to ClassLink and select the Seesaw app. Selecting Seesaw will open the mobile app on mobile devices (such as iPads and tablets), and web-based Seesaw for students using laptops, computers, and Chromebooks!

What happens when we sync ClassLink and Seesaw? 

If it is your first year rostering your classes in Seesaw through ClassLink, your teachers will not be emailed by Seesaw until we activate your district. District activation occurs after the sync and you have confirmed that your new classes look accurate.

After activation, your teachers will receive an email letting them know their new classes are available. For any teachers who are brand new to Seesaw, they will also be prompted to add a password to their account.

If you are a returning district that has rostered via ClassLink before, your district is already activated. Your teachers will receive an email letting them know how to access their classes immediately after the sync has finished processing.

What classes should we share in ClassLink?

We suggest sharing only your Homeroom/Advisory classes with Seesaw! Most students (especially younger students) don't use Seesaw with multiple classes. If all of the classes in your SIS are shared, then each student could end up having a large number of classes. This can confuse students and teachers and cause issues with students submitting work to the wrong class.

Please contact your ClassLink rep for information on creating custom classes or updating sharing rules to filter out excess classes!

How do I keep new classes private using ClassLink?

Once you have synced your data from ClassLink to Seesaw, all teachers and students would be able to see their classes if they were to login. If you do not want students and teachers to see their classes, please do not share your current school year's data with Seesaw until that date.

As an admin, you can specify a range of IP addresses from your school network in the Seesaw for Schools dashboard. When trusted IP address ranges are specified for a school, students using Seesaw outside of your school network will not be able to see OTHER students' work. This comes in handy if you have students logging in from home and would like to prevent family members from being able to see other students in the class! Click here for more information about Trusted IP addresses.

Why do my students have two accounts after ClassLink Sync?

When you add teachers to your Seesaw for Schools dashboard, all of their classes, students, and posts will be connected to your dashboard as well. These students will not be recognized by ClassLink until a Student ID or an email address is added to their account. If you would like your student's data from their previous class to stay connected to their account, you will need to add a Student ID or an email address to their account so they are recognized by ClassLink!

When the ClassLink sync is initiated, it will search for existing students in Seesaw. When ClassLink finds a Student ID or email address is recognizes, it will update the existing account and enroll that student into their new classes. If ClassLink can not find a Student ID or email address in Seesaw, it will create an account for that student and enroll them in their classes.

The Student ID in Seesaw must match the SourcedID field in ClassLink. We can not match off of the Student Number, username or State ID that is in ClassLink.

If you did not add a Student ID or email address to your students prior to the ClassLink sync, your students will have two accounts in Seesaw. You can either merge the accounts together, to keep their data from previous years connected to their account. Or, *you can archive old accounts and start fresh with the ClassLink syncing accounts. (*recommended)

 To merge accounts, please see the below instructions. 

  1. Sign in to your Seesaw for Schools Admin account at https://app.seesaw.me.
  2. Tap 'Assign Missing Student IDs' in the Admin Tools section. 
  3. Get an export of SourcedIDs from ClassLink.
  4. Enter in the missing Student IDs using data from ClassLink.
    You can filter this list of students by class using the filter by class menu (top right) if that is simpler.
  5. Tap 'ID in use by StudentName. Click here to merge.'. 
  6. Follow the steps to merge the student into one account. Make sure this information is correct. This cannot be undone.

unnamed.png

What happens if our teachers have created their own class rather than waiting for the ClassLink sync?

We do not have a way to combine classes, or easily move data from one class to another. Teachers will have to manually move items from one class to another 1-by-1 or start fresh in the ClassLink created class. We do not recommend teachers create their own classes if you are using ClassLink to roster your classes!

How often does ClassLink sync with Seesaw?

You can set up RosterServer to sync nightly at a time that you choose. Any changes that you make to your sharing data will be updated in Seesaw within 24 hours.

You can find more about setting a sync schedule in RosterServer here!

Can family members see their child's classes?

By default, Family Access is turned off for new classes. However, if you have Family Access enabled for your school or district, the new classes will be visible to connected family members in their app. If you do not want family members accessing their student’s new class information, you can disable Family Access in bulk from the Admin Dashboard. Here’s how!

Note: It is possible for family members to sign in to ClassLink Portal as a student and view their child's class.

Can students access their classes?

After the sync has finished processing, students can sign in via the ClassLink Portal and access Seesaw. If you do not want students to see their classes, please do not share your current school year's data with Seesaw until that date! 

Can we hide classes from teachers until the first day of school?

Unfortunately, once the sync has been initiated between ClassLink and Seesaw, we do not have a way to hide classes from teachers. If you do not want teachers to see their class lists until a certain date, please do not share your current school year's data with Seesaw until that date.

Have more questions? Submit a request