How do I deactivate a student account?

If you have students who are not returning to your school next year, you can deactivate their accounts from your Admin Dashboard. Deactivating a student's account will not delete any of their work, rather just remove them from your active student list and place their journals into a 'cold storage'. You will be able to reactivate them should they return to your school at any time.

In order to maintain student privacy, we will email you in one year to see if you still need those student journals archived. If you do, we will not delete them- if you do not, we will be able to delete their inactive account. Seesaw does not delete any student data without asking you first.

         

Set one student to inactive

You can set a student to inactive from the Admin Dashboard, here's how:

  1. Sign in as an Admin at app.seesaw.me.
  2. Tap the Student tab.
  3. Search for the student you want to deactivate.
  4. Tap 'Edit Student'.
  5. Scroll down and tap 'Set To Inactive'.
Set students to inactive in bulk

If you have a lot of students you need to set to inactive, you can do so in bulk in the Admin Dashboard, here's how:

  1. Sign in as an Admin at app.seesaw.me.
  2. On the Overview tab, scroll down to the Admin Tool Box (right hand side).
  3. Tap 'Deactivate Old Accounts'.
  4. Follow the prompts to deactivate all of your students who are in 0 active classes.
Reactivate an inactive student

If you have set a student to inactive, and you would like to reactivate them again, here's how:

  1. Sign in as an Admin at app.seesaw.me.
  2. Tap the student tab.
  3. Tap the 4 horizontal lines button on the right hand side.
  4. Tap 'Show Inactive Students'. Search for the student you want to reactivate.
  5. Tap 'Edit Student'.
  6. Scroll down and tap 'Set Student to Active'.
Have more questions? Submit a request