What happens when a teacher account is moved from Seesaw for Schools to a free Seesaw account?

What happens when a teacher account is moved from Seesaw for Schools to a free Seesaw account?

If a teacher is removed from a Seesaw for Schools subscription:

When a Teacher account is removed from a Seesaw for Schools subscription, their classes and students remain with the school. Classes and students do not stay in the Teacher’s account. Once a teacher logs in after being removed from the Seesaw for Schools subscription, they will be prompted to create a new class.
Teachers will still be able to use Seesaw and its core features for free, even after moving from Seesaw for Schools to a free account. Here’s what to expect when a teacher moves from Seesaw for Schools to a free account:

Basic Features

Teachers will still have access to all of Seesaw’s creative tools, the family messaging feature, and Home Learning Codes. The allotted number of co-teachers per class will go from 10 to 2, and teachers will be allotted 10 active classes each instead of 100.

Premium Creative Tools

Teachers will no longer be able to create multipage activities and posts with free Seesaw. If the teacher has previously saved or created multipage activities, they will still be able to assign them but will be unable to edit them.
Seesaw’s Community Activity Library contains some multipage activities that teachers using free Seesaw will be able to use; however, these teachers will not be able make any custom edits to those activities.
Additionally, students and teachers will not be able to save drafts. Teachers will no longer be able to send work back to students for revision.

Activity Features

Instead of having the ability to create and save unlimited activities, teachers moving to free Seesaw will be able to create and save up to 100 activities to their Activity Library. Teachers who already have over 100 Activities in their Library prior to moving to free Seesaw will still be able to access all of them, but if they would like to add/create additional Activities, they will need to remove Activities from their Library to get the number back under 100.
To remove an Activity from your Library, either tap on the pink heart or tap the [...] button and select ‘Remove from Library.’ At this time, there is no way to remove activities in bulk.
Additionally, teachers will no longer be able to schedule activities ahead of time.

Assessment Features

Teachers using a free Seesaw plan will not have access to the Progress feature or to Folders.  Any private notes or Folders created while using Seesaw for Schools will still be accessible (as will the posts within them), but teachers will be unable to add to them.

If a school dashboard expires and teachers are released into the free version of Seesaw:

When a Seesaw for Schools subscription expires, the teacher account is released from the subscription as a free Seesaw account.  Their classes and students do not remain with the school. Classes and students stay in the Teacher’s account. Once a teacher logs in after being removed from the Seesaw for Schools subscription, they will still see and be able to access their classes. 

Teachers will still be able to use Seesaw and its core features for free, even after moving from Seesaw for Schools to a free account. Here’s what to expect when a teacher moves from an expired Seesaw for Schools subscription to a free account:

Basic Features

Teachers will still have access to all of Seesaw’s creative tools, the family messaging feature, and Home Learning Codes. The allotted number of co-teachers per class will go from 10 to 2, and teachers will only be allotted 10 active classes each instead of 100. Note: any teachers added to a class while using Seesaw for Schools will remain connected to the class even after the switch to free Seesaw, but if they are removed from the class for any reason, they will not be able to be added back.

Premium Creative Tools

Teachers will no longer be able to create multipage activities and posts. They will still be able to view multipage activities and posts that they created and that their students completed when they had Seesaw for Schools, but they will no longer be able to edit them. Teachers will also lose access to the School and District Activity Libraries.

Activity Features

Instead of having the ability to create and save unlimited activities, teachers reverting back to free Seesaw will be able to create and save up to 100 activities to their Activity Library. Teachers who already have over 100 Activities in their Library prior to moving to free Seesaw will still be able to access all of them, but if they would like to add/create additional Activities, they will need to remove Activities from their Library to get the number back under 100 in order to proceed.
To remove an Activity from your Library, either tap on the pink heart or tap the [...] button and select ‘Remove from Library.’ At this time, there is no way to remove activities in bulk.
Additionally, teachers will no longer be able to schedule activities ahead of time, nor will they be able to access the School or District Activity Libraries.

Assessment Features

Teachers reverting to a free Seesaw plan will not have access to the Progress feature or to Folders. Any private notes or Folders created while using Seesaw for Schools will still be accessible (as will the posts within them), but teachers will be unable to add to them.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request