What happens when a teacher account is removed from a Seesaw subscription
Audience: Teachers and Administrators
If teachers are removed from your subscription, they will lose access to certain features. Here is what you can expect when individual teachers are converted to Seesaw Starter.
Note: This article does not cover the process of an entire school downgrading from a Seesaw subscription. Please refer to What happens if we don't renew our Seesaw subscription for more information on the school downgrade process.
Teacher Accounts
Teacher accounts
When the administrator clicks "Remove Teacher from School", the teacher's account is downgraded to Seesaw Starter.
Teachers may continue to use the core features of Seesaw after being removed.
Existing classes & students
Existing classes and students remain connected to the school dashboard when the teacher is removed.
Existing classes and students do not transfer with the removed teacher's account.
Once a teacher logs in after being downgraded to Seesaw Starter, they will be prompted to create a new class.
Number of co-teachers
Seesaw Starter allows 1 teacher per Seesaw class. All existing teachers remain connected, but teachers cannot add any new co-teachers.
Number of active classes
Seesaw Starter allows 1 active class per teacher account. Teachers can view, use, and edit all existing classes but cannot create more.
Number of students per class
Seesaw Starter teachers are limited to 35 students per class. Teachers can view, edit, and use all current students but cannot add more.
Ambassador status
If a teacher account is removed from a Seesaw subscription, they will continue to have their Ambassador status shown on their account as long as they keep using the same account. They will simply need to update the email address associated with their Ambassador account in their Account Settings within Seesaw.
If an Ambassador needs to create a new account with a different email address, they should contact Seesaw Support for help transferring their Ambassador status to the new account.
Premium Creative Tools & Activities
Multi-page posts & activities
Seesaw Starter teachers cannot create multipage activities and posts.
If the teacher has previously saved or created multipage activities, they will still be able to assign them but will not be able to edit them.
Seesaw’s Community Library contains some multipage activities that teachers using Seesaw Starter will be able to assign; however, teachers will not be able to make any custom edits to these activities.
Mixed Media uploads
Seesaw Starter teachers are limited to 5 mixed media uploads.
Drafts & send back
Seesaw Starter teachers and their students will not be able to save drafts.
Seesaw Starter teachers will not be able to send work back to students for revision.
Scheduling activities
Seesaw Starter teachers cannot schedule activities for specific days and times in the future.
Assessment features
Seesaw Starter teachers will not have access to Progress.
Organisational tools
Previously created private notes will be visible on Seesaw Starter. Teachers will be able to delete these private notes, but will not be able to edit or create new ones.
Seesaw Starter allows a maximum of 100 folders.
Student Groups are not available for teachers on Seesaw Starter. Teachers will be able to view/use/edit all existing groups, but cannot create a new one.
My Library
Seesaw Starter teachers may create and save up to 35 activities.
Teachers who have over 35 saved activities prior to downgrading may still access all of their saved activities. However, if they wish to add or create additional activities, they will first need to reduce their saved activities to below 35. Teachers will be prevented from saving or creating a 36th activity.
If the teacher's email address is changing, they should update the email address in the Account Settings of the account they wish to continue using.
If a teacher has already created a new account with a new email address and would like to access their previously saved activities, they will need to contact Seesaw Support to help them copy their Activity Library. They can also sign in and individually share those Activities with the new account.
School & District Libraries
Seesaw Starter teachers will no longer have access to the School or District Libraries.
When a teacher is removed from the school dashboard, any activities they shared with the School & District Library will remain in the School & District Library.
These activities would only be removed from the School & District Library if the teacher or admin removes the activity from the Library or deletes the activity.
If the teacher permanently deletes their account after being removed from the school dashboard, these activities would also be deleted.
If you’re concerned about the activities remaining in the School & District Library after a teacher account is removed, we suggest making a copy of the activity and then sharing that copy with the School & District Library.
Seesaw Library
Seesaw Starter teachers will no longer have access to Seesaw's supplementary curriculum library.
Seesaw Messages
Existing class messages
All of the teacher’s existing conversations and messages will be closed if there is no remaining teacher or admin from the school in the message thread.
This is a preventative measure to protect your school’s data, as administrators cannot moderate the messages of a free class as they can for a paid class.
Teachers can still create new conversations and announcements when they create new free classes.
Classes and students will remain associated with the school, not with the removed teacher’s account.
Family messaging
Families in Seesaw Starter Classes can start private messages to teachers and reply privately to announcements sent by teachers if the "Family Messaging" class setting is toggled ON by the teacher.
Families in Seesaw Starter Classes can always reply to any 1:1/group conversations started by teachers, regardless of whether the "Family Messaging" class setting is toggled ON or OFF by the teacher.
Multi-class messaging
Seesaw Starter does not support multi-class messaging.
Student messaging
Seesaw Starter does not support messaging between students and teachers in a 1:1 or group messaging setting.
Messaging other school users
Seesaw Starter does not support messaging between school users not associated with the teacher's classes.
Schoolwide Announcements
Seesaw Starter does not support schoolwide messaging. All users will lose access to previous messages that cannot be associated with an active class, such as school-level announcements.