Managing Roster Sync Settings

audience.png  Audience: Administrators with paid District or School subscriptions

Roster Sync Settings are flexible options that allow Districts or Schools using Clever, ClassLink or Wonde for rostering to manage their sync. The overview below of Roster Sync settings shows how Administrators can customise the sync experience to suit their needs.

Nightly Sync Time 

Administrators can choose for their district's nightly sync to take place at 8 PM, 12 AM, or 4 AM local time. 

By default, the sync is set to run at 8 PM local time. Admins can change this depending on when their student information system syncs with Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde.

To change the sync time, select the new preferred time and Save Changes.

Remove Teachers and Admins

Teachers and Admins who are shared with Seesaw from Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde will be created and added to their assigned Schools and Classes during the sync. 

The Roster Sync Settings allow Admins to choose how users who are no longer included in their shared data are removed from Seesaw. They can choose to remove users manually or automatically with the sync

Most administrators choose the ‘Automatically with Sync’ option to ensure that the data in Seesaw reflects changes made to the Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde sharing data.

Expected Behaviour: Manually Remove Users
Teachers and Admins who are removed from sharing data in Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde will not be removed from Classes or Schools in Seesaw. They will remain connected to Seesaw Classes and School dashboards, with the same permissions, until the Admin manually removes them from Seesaw. 

It is recommended that if you choose to manually remove users, you regularly review their School Admin and Teachers to ensure that only active members of their School staff have access to the School Dashboard. 

Expected Behaviour: Automatically Remove Users
Teachers and Admins who are removed from sharing data in Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde will be automatically removed from Classes or Schools during the sync. Teachers and Admins will lose access to all Classes on the School Dashboard, but the Activities they have created and saved will remain on their account. All Classes, Student Accounts, and Student Data will remain connected to the School Dashboard. 

Notes: 

  • Student accounts will not be affected by these settings.
  • Student accounts will always be added, updated, or archived based on the shared data in Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde.
  • All manually created users who were never included in your shared data will not be affected by these settings. 

End of Year Pause

We recommend pausing your Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde sync between school years to prevent data changes in Seesaw before rostering for the next school year is complete. 

Toggle the feature ON to pause, and Save Changes.


This prevents common issues such as 

  • Classes being archived before grading periods are complete.
  • Creating Classes for the new school year before staffing and enrolment are complete.

By default, this setting is enabled, and your nightly sync will be paused in mid-June every year. You can disable this setting to continue syncing nightly over the summer in District or School Settings > Rostering.

Enable Family Syncing

Administrators can enable Family syncing. During your rostering sync, Seesaw will import family members being shared in Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde directly into Seesaw. 

Toggle the feature ON to enable family syncing and Save Changes.

Choose whether family members should be disconnected manually or automatically by selecting the appropriate toggle.

For more information on Family syncing, visit the links below: 

How to enable Family Syncing in Clever

How to enable Family Syncing in ClassLink

How to enable Family Syncing in Wonde

Archive and Restore Classes 

Administrators can enable the option to allow teachers to archive or restore their Clever, ClassLink, or Wonde-created classes. 

Toggle this option ON if you'd like teachers to be able to archive and restore classes and Save Changes.

Have more questions? Submit a request