Account Switching FAQ

 🌟 Coming Soon!

What is the account switching feature?

Seesaw’s account switching feature allows you to sign in to multiple accounts at once. This allows you to switch between accounts without signing out and back in again. This includes accounts across multiple user roles. That means that if you are a parent with two children, you can sign into your family account and both of your student accounts on the same device. Teachers, families, and students will not need to re-authenticate for one year, and can toggle between accounts without signing in each time.

What are some best practices for using the account switching feature?

Double-check that you have selected the correct account when posting or making changes in Seesaw. Note: We discourage use of Account Switching to toggle between student and adult accounts on the same device, as this gives the student access to the adult account.

I am a family member or parent. What should I be aware of when using the account switching feature?

When using the account switching feature, users will not be required to re-authenticate for one year after the account has been added. This means that users on the device have access to all accounts stored. If multiple students are stored, please have students check that they are uploading work and completing activities for the correct student account and making changes only to their account. Work that has been deleted cannot be restored. Please note that if a family account and student account(s) are stored on the same device, your students will have access to your family account.

I am a teacher with children that use Seesaw at home. What should I be aware of when using the account switching feature?

If you are a teacher and have childrens’ accounts stored on the same device, please note that your children will have access to your account and classes if they have access to your device. This includes access to your messages and access to approving and deleting class work. Work that has been deleted cannot be restored. 

If you have multiple students on your device, please have students check that they are uploading work and completing activities for the correct student account.

I am a teacher. Should I use this feature in my classroom with all of my students on our shared device?

If you are using a shared device in your classroom, we do not recommend this method. We recommend you change your class sign-in mode to “Class Code- Shared Devices”. With this setting, students will sign in to your class using the QR or Text Student Code. Students can add items to their journal and other journals in the class.

Have more questions? Submit a request