Answered

Allow Students to Edit Post but NOT Edit People

Due to the nature of distance learning, we have recommended students not be able to see each others work. However, when students are allowed to edit, they can edit people and then others can see their work. We have also had incidents of students posting inappropriate material, tagging other students, and untagging themselves. 

It would be great if students could be allowed to edit but NOT edit people! 

22

Comments

14 comments
  • Official comment

    In Class Settings on the web, teachers can now adjust the ability for students to edit tagged people on a post separately from the ability to edit their posts/activity responses. The setting will be respected on all devices, but the ability to edit is the setting is only available on the web today. We’ll add to other platforms later

    Comment actions Permalink
  • This has long been a concern of mine.  While I wanted students to be able to use Seesaw as a tool to connect with others, I was conflicted with the problem of providing feedback to students that was personal or something that I might not want others to see.  I have found the Seesaw Blog is a way around that.  Now, I turn off allowing students to see each other's work.  I use the Seesaw Blog as a way to showcase and share "finished" work.  

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Absolutely, Lauren. Wish we could put likes for how many people support this request - I am in 100% agreement. 

    We turned off the "Students Enable item Editing" for this very same reason, however, we not have phased return learning; % of students are in school using the Class QR Code and % of students completing the assigned activities at home then using the HL Code.  The problem we now have is no-one can edit work, which as teachers we all know how long it took them to review and edit before submitting.

    I desperately hope your feature request to turn on or off "Students Enable People Editing" can be distinguished between  Class Code sign-in method and  Home Learning Code sign-in method because we would never want students to tag classmates in work they produce at home.

    An interesting dilemma for the Google email sign-in students!

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Totally agree.  Please make this an option.  We have had trouble with this as well.  Having students be able to edit items is essential, especially during remote learning times. However, allowing them to edit people has caused issues.  having them be separate options would be ideal.  

     

    Thanks

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Yes please! It became time consuming and disrupted students work flow when they submitted and realised they had made a simple mistake immediately after - they had to wait for the teacher to send it back. We would have loved to allow editing but some students ruined it by altering the author.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Putting this here while it's fresh on my mind - here's the configuration I think we'll use for now, unless I learn of an alternative (we are using home sign-in codes, Seesaw for Schools):

    1. Turn off  "Enable item editing" for students (disables editing folders, people, etc).

    The student can still "edit" post content until they click the green check.  

    Once they click the green check, they can't edit again until/unless the teacher uses the "send back" button on the approval screen.  

    2. Turn on blog

    This allows the student to elect to "share", in a way, by clicking the globe on their own post - then it goes through the usual approval process, and is then visible on the blog, where other students can see or comment.  

    This way, if students are going to collaborate on a post, the teacher can still "edit people" to get more kids in there. 

    I can't tell if "Allow students to see each other's work" has any effect on this...it seems like it doesn't?

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • If I want a student to be able to edit a Journal entry that I created in Post Student Work, I have to be sure that the Enable Item Editing option is turned all but All I want is for the students to add/edit the post say for a quick science journal for younger students. The problem is if I turn the Edit option on, there are SO many choices for the student. (see image below) I just want - Edit Item. 

    For privacy issues, is there a way to turn off Show Tagged Students? Because even when the edit option is off, students can still see the name of other students who are tagged in the post. If the 3 dots are clicked it says "Show Tagged Students" why would a student need to see that? 

    Thank you for listening. Seesaw really is the best at listening to its teachers. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I totally agree and I’m having the same difficulty allow students to go back to their work in progress.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Nchoiniere-kroeker and Mrs. Tabaka, thank you for the feedback on "Show tagged people". I think this is a bug on the web. I don't see this same issue on iOS. We'll get that fixed. Thank you for flagging for us! 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Nchoiniere-kroeker and Mrs. Tabaka, the "show tagged people" option has been removed from the student view. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  •                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     uyuvushdbivj                                                                                                                                                                            

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • The real concern for us is the student ability to tag a peer and then untag themselves, which makes their post appear to be only from/by the other student.

    This removes any attribution to the creator of the post, making it seem to a teacher that the post was completed by somebody else. This seems to be a major security issue.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I wonder if this is what happened in a recent incident on my class Seesaw.  Someone inserted a text box onto a student's assignment that said some mean things about that student.  I have the ability for students to see each other's work turned off, so I was confused how this happened.  I literally came to the conclusion that the student either did it himself, or someone visiting his home got onto his computer and did it. I was not aware that students could tag others, and definitely not aware they could tag others and then untag themselves and "hide."  This is absolutely concerning.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Question: If a student tags others on their post, does the post show as a duplicate post under the tagged students' names? I have an assignment that several students were tagged on, and those tagged students show 2 posts, one is their original and one is a duplicate of someone else's (I'm guessing the tagger's) assignment.  For example, if Bob tagged Judy on his assignment, it looks as if Judy posted 2 assignments, one which is actually hers, and one that is Bob's but has Judy's name now attached.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

New post