What happens when a teacher account is removed from Seesaw for Schools?

What happens when a teacher account is moved from Seesaw for Schools to Seesaw Starter?

Note: This article does not address an entire school downgrading from Seesaw for Schools. Please reference What happens if we don't renew Seesaw for Schools? for more information on the school downgrade process. 

If teachers are removed from your Seesaw for Schools subscription, they will experience a loss of features that are only supported through Seesaw for Schools. Here is what you can expect when individual teachers are removed from Seesaw for Schools and converted to Seesaw Starter. 

 
Teacher Accounts
 Teacher accounts
  • When the administrator taps "Remove Teacher from School", the teacher account is downgraded to Seesaw Starter.
  • Teachers may continue using the core features of Seesaw after the removal process.
 Existing classes & students
  • Existing classes and students remain connected to the school dashboard when the teacher is removed.
  • Existing classes and students do not transfer with the teacher's removed account.
  • Once a teacher logs in after the downgrade process to Seesaw Starter, they will be prompted to create a new class.
 Number of co-teachers
  • Seesaw Starter allows 2 co-teachers per Seesaw class, rather than 10 co-teachers allowed by Seesaw for Schools.
 Number of active classes
  • Seesaw Starter allows 10 active classes in a teacher's account, rather than 100 active classes allowed by Seesaw for Schools.
Ambassador status
  • If a teacher account is removed from Seesaw for Schools, they will continue to have their Ambassador status show for their account as long as they keep the same account moving forward. They simply will have to edit the email address associated with their Ambassador account in their Account Settings within Seesaw.
  • If an Ambassador needs to create a new account with a different email address, they will want to reach out to Seesaw Support for assistance with transferring their Ambassador status to the new account.
Premium Creative Tools & Activities 
 Multi-page posts & activities
  • Seesaw Starter teachers will no longer be able to create multipage activities and posts.
  • If the teacher has previously saved or created multipage activities, they will still be able to assign them but will be unable to edit them.
  • Seesaw’s Community Library contains some multipage activities that teachers using Seesaw Starter will be able to assign; however, teachers will not be able to make any custom edits to these activities.
 Drafts & send back
  • Seesaw Starter teachers and their students will not be able to save drafts.
  • Seesaw Starter teachers will not be able to send work back to students for revision.
 Scheduling activities
  • Seesaw Starter teachers cannot schedule activities for specific days and times in the future.
 Assessment features
  • Seesaw Starter teachers will not have access to Progress. 
 Organizational tools
  • Previously created private notes will be visible on Seesaw Starter. Teachers will have the capability to delete these private notes, but they will not have the ability to edit or create new ones.

  • Seesaw Starter allows a maximum of 100 folders. 
 Resource Library: My Library
  • Seesaw Starter teachers may create and save up to 100 activities, rather than unlimited activities allowed by Seesaw for Schools.
  • Teachers who have over 100 saved activities prior to downgrading may still access all of their saved activities. However, if they would like to add or create additional activities, they will first need to reduce their saved activities to under 100.
  • If the teacher's email address is changing, they will want to update the email address in their Account Settings of the account they wish to continue using. 

  • If a teacher has already created a new account with a new email address and would like to access their previously saved activities, they will need to reach out to Seesaw Support to help them copy their Activity Library. They can also sign in and individually share those Activities with the new account.

 Resource Library: School &   District Libraries
  • Seesaw Starter teachers will no longer have access to the School or District Libraries.
  • When a teacher is removed from the school dashboard, any activities they shared with the School & District Library will remain in the School & District Library.
  • These activities would only be removed from the School & District Library if the teacher or admin removes the activity from the Library or deletes the activity.
  • If the teacher permanently deletes their account after being removed from the school dashboard, these activities would also be deleted. 
  • If you’re concerned about the activities staying within the School & District Library after a teacher account is removed, we can suggest making a copy of the activity and then sharing that copy with the School & District Library.
 Resource Library: Seesaw Library
  • Seesaw Starter teachers will no longer have access to Seesaw's supplemental curriculum library.
Seesaw Messages
 Existing class messages
  • All of the teacher’s existing conversations and messages will enter a closed state if there is no remaining teacher or admin from the school in the message thread.

  • This is a preventative measure to protect your school’s data, as administrators cannot moderate the messages of a free class like they can for a paid class.

  • Teachers can still create new conversations and announcements when they create new free classes.

  • Classes and students will remain associated with the school, not with the removed teacher’s account.

 Family messaging
  • Families in Free Classes can start private messages to teachers and reply privately to announcements sent by teachers if the "Family Messaging" class setting is toggled ON by the teacher.
  • Families in Free Classes can always reply to any 1:1/group conversations started by teachers, regardless of whether the "Family Messaging" class setting is toggled ON or OFF by the teacher.
 Multi-class messaging
  • Seesaw Starter does not support multi-class messaging.
 Student messaging
  • Seesaw Starter does not support messaging between students and teachers in a 1:1 or group messaging setting.
 Messaging other school users
  • Seesaw Starter does not support messaging between school users not associated with the teacher's classes.
 Schoolwide Announcements
  • Seesaw Starter does not support schoolwide messaging. All users will lose access to previous messages that cannot be associated with an active class, such as school-level announcements.

Have more questions? Submit a request