How to change your Skills rating scale

 👤 Audience: Seesaw for Schools Teachers

Skills are transitioning to Sitewide Standards
In June 2024, all premium school and district customers will be transitioned to Sitewide Standards. Teachers can download and export existing Skills before December 2024. Seesaw Plus (legacy) customers can continue using Skills and download data until December 2024. 💡 Learn more about Sitewide Standards!

Teachers using Seesaw for Schools or a Seesaw Premium Features trial can create and tag Skills that align with a 3-6 star scale. Skills rating scales can be changed at any time. 
New to Skills? Get started with our Skills overview!

1. Log in to your teacher account on the web app.

2. Tap the wrench icon in the upper right corner.

3. In Class Settings, scroll down to Progress > Skills Rating Scale.

4. Select the rating scale that works best for your class!

If you change your Skills rating scale, all previously tagged skills will update to the new scale.

Seesaw uses a decimal rating for these rate conversions and rounds to the nearest decimal when the rating scale is changed. For example, a score of 4/5 is .8 in decimals. If you change your scale to 6 stars, the rating will become 5/6. If you change your scale to 3 stars, the rating will become 2/3. The decimal conversion will remain the same in each case.


Have more questions? Submit a request