Here's a full list of the settings available in the Manage Class menu. Read below to get an idea of how you might want to set up your class. You can change your class settings at anytime.
- Class name: Change/edit the class name.
- Grade level: Change/edit the grade level of your class. Depending on the grade level, student icons may switch to suit older grade levels (animal icons will turn to initials for grades 5 and up).
- Manage teachers: Add or remove teachers who have access to the class. All teachers have the same permissions.
- Student sign in mode: Choose between Class Code Sign in or Email/Google Sign in. This cannot be changed after the class is created.
- Seesaw defaults to Shared Device sign in mode when creating a new account. With Shared Device Sign In mode, students sign in using the QR or Text code and can add items to their journal and other journals in the class.
- In 1:1 Device l Sign in Mode, students will scan the class QR code and then select their name from the class list. They will stay signed in as that student for 1 year (or until they sign out), and can only add items into that student's journal. This is an alternative to username/password accounts for students.
- If you've selected that your students sign in with their Email/Google Accounts when you set up your class, you will not be able to change this setting.
- View comparison chart >>
- Manage students: Allows you to manage student profiles in the class and add new students (in Class Code Sign in modes). Edit a student’s name, profile icon, or edit parents signed up to access that student’s journal
- Student likes and comments: Gives your students permission to like or comment on journal entries they can see.
- Enable teacher moderation for comments by turning on “New comments require approval”. Any time a student makes a comment, the comment will to be approved before it is visible to students and parents
- Students can see each other’s work:
- Turn this feature ON if you would like students to see their own journal and other students’ journals in your class.
- If you want students to see only their own journal in Individual Student Sign in and Google Sign in modes, turn this setting OFF.
- If you turn this setting OFF in Class Code Sign in Mode, students will not be able to see any journal content in your class. They can only add new items.
- New items require approval: Keep this feature ON if you would like to approve new student work before students and parents can view new items. New items can be approved individually or in bulk. Turn OFF if you want items to be automatically approved.
- Enable item editing: Turn ON this feature if you would like students to edit their work. With this feature on, students will be able to edit their own work, and "copy and edit" work posted into other journals they can see (if any).
- Enable parent access: If you wish to invite parents to your class, turn this feature ON to enable settings that will allow you to invite and manage parents in your class.
- Invite parents: By tapping invite parents, you will be able to choose from two parent invitation options. Either email parents an invitation link or get the Parent Invite Handouts with a unique QR code for each child. If inviting parents with the handout, make sure that each handout goes home with the right child.
- Manage parents: See which students have parents signed up and which students do not have parents signed up to view their journal. You can also invite or remove parents by tapping on each child.
- Pending parent approvals: Parents who sign up using the class signup link (instead of the QR code) will have to be approved before viewing their child’s journal. Make sure that the parent has selected the correct child before approving them,
- Parent likes, comments and sharing: Enable likes, comments and sharing for parents. You can turn these features off if you do not want parents to like, comment or or share/download student work. Also enable “new comments require approval” if you would like parent comments require approval before students can see new parent comments.
- Enable class blog: Create a public or password-protected blog for your class. Use Seesaw Blogs to share student work with a broader, global audience. Easily post a selection of student work from your Seesaw Class onto the Class Blog.
- Students can add items to class blog: Do you want students to choose which Seesaw posts to publish to the blog. All posts require teacher approval first.
- Blog settings: Control if your class folders show on the blog, if you allow comments from visitors on your blog, if your blog is password protected.
- Blog appearance: Control your blog name, blog URL, blog description and header image.
- Visit blog: Get your blog URL or visit your blog on the web.
- Connected blogs: Connect with other Seesaw Class blogs, right from inside Seesaw! Great for building a global community of learners and building 21st Century communication skills. Students can visit connected blogs right from inside the Seesaw app or website and leave comments or collaborate.
- Manage folders: Add or remove folders from your class. Use folders to organize work by subject area or learning objective.
- Show add to folder step: To prompt students to add work to folders when they are adding a new journal entry, turn this setting to “Students and Teachers”. To show this step to only teachers, leave it set to “Teachers”. You also have the option of never showing this step when posting items to the journal.
- Manage skills: Create and manage your own set of skills, standards or learning objectives. Tag student work with these skills and optionally assign a 1-4 star rating.
- Save to camera roll: Any pictures or videos captured with the Seesaw app will automatically be saved to the Camera Roll of your student devices.
- Video Quality: Select the type of video quality you would like your videos on Seesaw to be uploaded with. Choose from Medium (320p), High (480p) and HD (720p) quality. For most school wi-fi connections, we recommend choosing Medium.
- Archive a class if you want to remove it from your class list, and still want to have access to the data in the future. To permanently delete a class, you must first archive the class. Then go into Account Settings and delete it from there.